the best day of vacation…

29 Feb

Tuesday might have been the best day of our vacation.

Mark and I just got back from a great trip to Mexico. Our days, for the most part, were very much the same – coffee in our room in the morning, breakfast in the cafe, Skype with Alex, out to the pool, BLT’s for lunch at the pool. More sun, perhaps a dip in the pool, maybe a beer or two, back to our room to get ready for dinner, Skype with Alex, out to dinner and home. With only a couple of exceptions, our days all were exactly like that. Wonderful, relaxing, quiet, sunny and warm.

Tuesday, though, was the day we got home and brought Alex lunch at school.

He was so happy to see us! During lunch, he kept sneaking his hand under the table to hold mine and at recess, he was playing tag with his friends and would keep coming back to where we were standing to give me a hug. He must have said “I love you” about 50 times. He seems to have grown – his hair is too long, his front tooth is growing in, he feels taller. Seeing him after a week is such a clear reminder of how fast he’s growing, how quickly this season of our lives will pass.

I am so thankful that we have grandparents that live near by and are willing and able to watch Alex for a week. I am so thankful that we are able to get away, just Mark and me, and be grown-ups. I’m thankful for a son who can go with the flow.

But today, I’m also thankful for the small reminder that Alex loves us more than anything.

MeAndAlex

Leave a comment