40 at 40

20 Apr

I’ve been 40 for nearly a month now. So far so good. I think I have more gray hair, but it just might be past time to visit the hairdresser.

Anyway, I’ve been thinking about what I’d like to accomplish this year. Somehow, 40 makes it feel as though I should be more mindful of what I spend my time doing. With that in mind, I made a list of, you guessed it, 40 things I’d like to accomplish this year. I started this list a couple of weeks ago, so one item is already crossed off (is there any better feeling than crossing things off a list?) and a couple of my items are simply finishing various works in progress. Others might seem silly, but having them in black and white makes them all feel more significant.

  1. paint the master bathroom
  2. paint my office
  3. have a zip line adventure
  4. build a web-site
  5. run a 5k
  6. create and use a weekly menu plan
  7. plant spring bulbs
  8. plant a garden
  9. learn Spanish
  10. clean out & organize all closets
  11. make a quilt for the family room
  12. finish small dresser*
  13. finish Alex’s quilt*
  14. plan a weekend getaway for Mark and me
  15. start a date night habit
  16. clean out kitchen
  17. use our Metropolitan Grill gift certificates (finally – they’re years old!)
  18. start a yoga practice
  19. knit a sweater
  20. make strawberry jam
  21. move my month-by-month album to 12 x 12
  22. finish my “Me: The Abridged Album” album
  23. use the fire-pit
  24. make Jello shots***
  25. schedule a Bunco night
  26. schedule a massage
  27. catch up on laundry**
  28. take a hike
  29. create a video tutorial
  30. take a class
  31. teach Alex organization
  32. go to the coast
  33. scan at least 10 albums
  34. have a party
  35. finish a Disney album
  36. add a stamp to my passport
  37. build a blogging habit
  38. knit socks
  39. drive the trailer for at least an hour
  40. plant the front yard

*items in progress

**OK, this may never happen, but it keeps me working

The one item that I’ve finished, painting the master bathroom, has been a project I’ve wanted to tackle since we moved into this house six years ago. The former owner had the bathroom painted purple and there was a Thomas Kincaid style wallpaper border around the top of the wall. Not our style at all. We tackled that project two weeks ago and it felt awesome! I’ll have to post some before & after shots.

As for the rest, I’ll keep you posted. When I was working on this list, I wanted to have a healthy mix of realistic goals and some that are much more challenging. I have this in writing right now and plan to make a couple of copies; for me, in order for something to be front of mind, it also has to be a bit in my face. So, I’ll probably post something on my bathroom mirror (anyone else do that?) and I’ll have it in my purse, maybe my work bag. Somehow, just having this down on paper makes me feel really optimistic about the coming year. Forty will indeed be fabulous!

6 Responses to “40 at 40”

  1. anneberit April 20, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    Loved the list. Gave me an idea for when I get 40 this summer. I was planning a year of 365 photos, but I started early – so now I need something else to make the year special. 😀 Good luck on your list!

    • Julie S. December 17, 2011 at 7:43 am #

      It’s been so fun, I’m thinking of doing a new list every year. Go for it!

  2. Cheri April 20, 2011 at 3:29 am #

    good luck with those goals!

    • Julie S. December 17, 2011 at 7:43 am #

      Thanks! I’m afraid I left some of the more challenging ones for last so I’ll take all the luck I can get!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 40 at 40 update « - June 11, 2011

    […] is my full 40-at-40 list. If you want to see previous updates, they’re here and here or check the category “40-at-40″ on the […]

  2. a big 40-at-40 update… « - December 17, 2011

    […]  paint the master bathroom – this was one of my first accomplishments, actually finished before I completed the list 2.    paint my office – not yet, hoping for […]

Leave a Reply

