Album Disection…

25 Apr

I follow a “Library of Memories” system when it comes to organizing my layouts. I have albums in four categories: Just the Three of Us, Friends & Family, Things we Do and Places Near and Far. I prefer some general chronology within each of those categories, but I’m not a stickler and up until now, I’ve only had one album for each category so layouts go in either at the end of the book as I make them or where I have an empty spot.

Today, I added a second edition of our “Just the Three of Us” album and I took that opportunity to do a bit of organization. First I took all the layouts out of the album:

IMG_3625IMG_3681

I couldn’t help myself; I had to take stock while I had everything out like this. I had 73 layouts in total. Of those, 31 are paper, 15 were hybrid of some sort and 27 were digital. I also had one 6 x 12, 30 8.5 x 11, three 11 x 8.5 and 39 12 x 12 pages. I like to mix them all up in the same album, and I choose how I’m going to scrap (digi, paper or hybrid) based on my mood and situation. For example, scrapping on a plane? No choice but digi!

Anyway, I also swapped album styles. I’d been using the American Crafts cloth albums and I really like them, but I wasn’t confident about their longevity. I’ve been using the We R Memory Keepers Classic Leather albums for my month-by-month albums and really love them so I decided to make the switch. Plus, I love the clean look and the label on the spine. I did a quick redesign of my label after I got the albums organized and here is how they look on the shelf:

IMG_3695

Aren’t they precious?

One Response to “Album Disection…”

  1. Cheri April 25, 2011 at 7:28 pm #

    It was interesting to read about your process Julie. I’m also a paper/hybrid/digi multi-size scrapper, so I’m glad I’m not alone! 🙂

Leave a Reply

