40-at-40 update…

20 Jul

I’ve made some progress on my 40-at-40 project in the last few weeks. It’s fun to get things crossed of the list (because really, isn’t crossing things off lists one of the best feelings ever?)

We have yummy local strawberries available this time of year, making it the perfect season to make strawberry jam (#20).  At the local produce stand, they pointed me to the best jam berries and I was ready to go. Some friends came over to share in the experience and at the end, we had about 20 jars of jam and a lot of fun.
IMG_4334
IMG_4326
IMG_4323

Even though the calendar says it’s summer, the pacific northwest hasn’t gotten the memo. Nonetheless, Alex has been a little obsessed with the fire-pit so we have had a couple of opportunities to use the fire-pit (#23). Typically we’re using it to warm up just as much as to enjoy the s’mores, but we’re getting it used!
IMG_0959

We just returned from a week-long camping trip. We had a wonderful time, enjoyed some actually summer-like weather, and I had the opportunity to drive the trailer for an hour (#39). For the sake of full disclosure, it was a little less than an hour, but I also backed it into a spot, which I decided counts for extra credit! Luckily, the man at the KOA was very patient and talked me through the whole backing procedure; made it into the spot in one shot!
IMG_0807
photo-11photo-12

So, I’ve been 40 for almost four months now and I’m about 25% through my list. I’m feeling pretty good about my progress so far. I’m realizing a couple of these times might not be happening this year and I’m OK with that… I may change up the list a bit. I’ve decided to reevaluate half-way through the year; it’s my list after all. I get to make the rules!

  1. paint the master bathroom
  2. paint my office
  3. have a zip line adventure
  4. build a web-site
  5. run a 5k
  6. create and use a weekly menu plan
  7. plant spring bulbs
  8. plant a garden
  9. learn Spanish
  10. clean out & organize all closets
  11. make a quilt for the family room
  12. finish small dresser*
  13. finish Alex’s quilt*
  14. plan a weekend getaway for Mark and me
  15. start a date night habit
  16. clean out kitchen
  17. use our Metropolitan Grill gift certificates (finally – they’re years old!)
  18. start a yoga practice
  19. knit a sweater
  20. make strawberry jam
  21. move my month-by-month album to 12 x 12
  22. finish my “Me: The Abridged Album” album
  23. use the fire-pit
  24. make Jello shots
  25. schedule a Bunco night
  26. schedule a massage
  27. catch up on laundry
  28. take a hike
  29. create a video tutorial
  30. take a class
  31. teach Alex organization
  32. go to the coast
  33. scan at least 10 albums
  34. have a party
  35. finish a Disney album
  36. add a stamp to my passport
  37. build a blogging habit
  38. knit socks
  39. drive the trailer for at least an hour
  40. plant the front yard
3 Responses to “40-at-40 update…”

  1. Sarah July 21, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    Hey, so this might sound kinda weird, but I would love to help you clean out your kitchen. Anything to help cross stuff off the list! ;o)

    • Julie S. July 21, 2011 at 9:27 am #

      Not weird at all… I’d live your help! Let’s make a date!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. a big 40-at-40 update… « - December 17, 2011

    […]  knit a sweater – not yet, not sure about this one! 20.    make strawberry jam – done! 21.    move my month-by-month album to 12 x 12 – I made the decision not to do this. […]

Leave a Reply

