40-at-40 update

14 Nov

It’s been a while since I’ve updated my 40-at-40 progress. It struck me back in September that my 40th year was half over and I wasn’t yet half complete with my list. It certainly spurred action on a couple of projects!

One of those projects was to finish Alex’s quilt (#13). I actually had to go find photos from when I started this project because I couldn’t remember how long it had been. Apparently, it had been since December of 2008. Here’s what the project looked like at the beginning:
quilt3
I fell in love with these fabrics and knew I wanted to use them. Here’s what they look like now:
quilt1quilt2
This finished project now resides on Alex’s top bunk and he loves it!

A couple of my to-do’s are so ridiculously simple that I can’t believe it took so long to complete them. Case in point, schedule a massage (#26). Really? It took me until nearly the end of September. That’s crazy-talk! I believe fully that we should all take care of ourselves so that we can in turn take care of those in our lives. It’s a shame that it took me so long. Here’s where I went:massage
I had a gift certificate from my mom for a seated chair massage which I’d never done before. It was nice, but I think I prefer the full-body variety. Next time!

We had a party (#34) with my team from work to celebrate the end of summer and, believe it or not, I have no pictures! I have no idea how it happened. I even remember taking pictures but they aren’t on any of our cameras or any of our computers. Hmm… if there are no pictures did the party really happen?

While we were on our summer vacation, we did take a hike (#28). We were in Coeur d’Alene Idaho and took a great hike on Tubbs Hill. It was a pretty warm day, but the hike was beautiful with great views of the lake. My battery died shortly after we started off, but I got a great photo of the map of our hike:
hike

I have made some additional progress on a couple of other items… I’ve scanned a couple more items (#33), I had a pretty good weekly yoga practice going (#18) but then I broke my toe and have had to take a break. Hopefully I’m back to that in a week or two. I will have more updates soon after I get a couple of more photos uploaded.

I’ve never taken on a project quite like this before. I’ve found that I really enjoy it much more than I thought I would. I think at this point that I might make this an annual tradition. It’s fun to get creative with the list and see how it really works on you as you work through it. I’m certain that there are things on this list that I wouldn’t have accomplished without it and I’m thankful for taking the steps to complete them.

  1. paint the master bathroom
  2. paint my office
  3. have a zip line adventure
  4. build a web-site
  5. run a 5k
  6. create and use a weekly menu plan
  7. plant spring bulbs
  8. plant a garden
  9. learn Spanish
  10. clean out & organize all closets
  11. make a quilt for the family room
  12. finish small dresser*
  13. finish Alex’s quilt*
  14. plan a weekend getaway for Mark and me
  15. start a date night habit
  16. clean out kitchen
  17. use our Metropolitan Grill gift certificates (finally – they’re years old!)
  18. start a yoga practice
  19. knit a sweater
  20. make strawberry jam
  21. move my month-by-month album to 12 x 12
  22. finish my “Me: The Abridged Album” album
  23. use the fire-pit
  24. make Jello shots
  25. schedule a Bunco night
  26. schedule a massage
  27. catch up on laundry
  28. take a hike
  29. create a video tutorial
  30. take a class
  31. teach Alex organization
  32. go to the coast
  33. scan at least 10 albums
  34. have a party
  35. finish a Disney album
  36. add a stamp to my passport
  37. build a blogging habit
  38. knit socks
  39. drive the trailer for at least an hour
  40. plant the front yard
One Response to “40-at-40 update”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. a big 40-at-40 update… « - December 17, 2011

    […] shot once it’s back in place. 13.    finish Alex’s quilt* – finished and being used nightly 14.    plan a weekend getaway for Mark and me – Mark’s […]

Leave a Reply

