the rest of our vacation…

2 Mar

So I last shared that Tuesday may have been the best day of our vacation. That’s true, but the rest of it was pretty great also.

Since I was in the middle of my Layout-A-Day challenge, I had to continue scrapbooking in Mexico. I took the opportunity to scrap our vacation photos as I went. Here are the layouts from the trip (click on any photo to see it larger):

MondayOur very first day consisted primarily of travel. We landed and got to our hotel just in time for a margarita. I included a photo here from the air, as well as a couple that replicated photos that we took on our first day last year.

TuesdayDay two was a lazy one by the pool. As the sun was starting to go down, we heard a racket out in front of our hotel. It was the Mexican version of Mardi Gras and the parade was lining up in the lot across the street. Conveniently, it was also sunset so we grabbed our cameras and captured what struck us. I also documented our Skype dates with Alex.

WednesdaySome photos of our daily lunch (BLT’s… yum!) and a couple from our evening walk into town. The journaling on this page comes from a story that Alex told us while we were talking over Skype that became a running joke for the rest of our trip.

ThursdayWhen every day of a vacation is about the same, it takes a little work to come up with new photos, but I think I’m doing OK! I played with my new remote control for the camera to catch us “in the act” of doing almost nothing.

Friday1Friday2Today was our one “excursion” day to go whale watching. There were too many great photos for one layout, so I had to do two. We had a fabulous day!

SaturdaySaturday was our big night out on the town. We had so much fun! I love La Paz!!

SundaySunday was spent mostly recovering from Saturday night. Ugh… I’m getting old!

Monday2Monday we headed for home. A couple more hours to lay by the pool and that was it.

Although I have never scrapped a vacation like this before (as in, while it was happening and every single day) I really, really liked it and would consider it again. I kept it really simple by limiting my supplies –  I used THIS template set from Ali Edwards at Designer Digitals. I love the clean lines and all of the journaling space, although I did alter a couple of the photo groupings to better fit my needs. The cardstock I used for the backgrounds came from HERE (a great link I found on Pinterest.

Thanks for sharing the rest of my vacation!

13 Responses to “the rest of our vacation…”

  1. iamahoneybee March 2, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    I love how this has a nice, clean, consistent look. It came together to nicely.

    The photos of jumping into the pool really make that page. awesome

    • Julie S. March 2, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

      Thanks so much!

  2. Ali March 2, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    Thanks for using my layered template set!

    • Julie S. March 2, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

      Ali, thank you! They were perfect for these photos and so easy to use and adapt as needed.

  3. AllisonK March 3, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    Your layouts are wonderful. I adore Ali’s templates as well.
    Thank you the kind link back to my site. Glad you enjoyed the cardstock.

    • Julie S. March 3, 2012 at 12:00 pm #

      Thank you! Your cardstock is wonderful and had just the colors I was looking for for this project.

  4. Lynn March 3, 2012 at 12:22 pm #

    I love how you did this! Love the simplicity of it. Looks like it was a great vacation! May I ask you how you altered the templates to fit your photos?

    • Julie S. March 3, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

      Thanks so much!
      I altered the templates by simply dragging the photo box layers to the size I wanted. Most often, this was when I wanted to the photo box to be a bit larger than it was so I would sort of combine two spaces. On the second page of the Friday layout, I enlarged the white mat and used photo boxes from two different templates to make one, full-sized layout only for pictures.
      Hope that helps!

      • Lynn March 3, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

        Thank you! I am fairly new to Photoshop Elements and learning new things all the time. I’ve used many of Ali’s templates but sometimes find that my photos don’t work in the spaces provided. I will try this. Appreciate the tip!

  5. Mandi March 5, 2012 at 7:34 am #

    Awesome! I always try to work on scrapbooks while on the vacation and it always falls by the wayside. I’ll bet it feels great to come home and have it all done. I think I would love that.

    • Julie S. March 5, 2012 at 7:59 am #

      Thanks – I’ve never done this before, but think I will next time. I had my printed pages back four days after vacation was over!

      • Mandi March 8, 2012 at 10:59 pm #

        That is so cool!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thoughts On Documenting Spring Break | Ali Edwards - March 19, 2012

    […] DIGITAL PHOTO BOOK | Loved seeing this example from Julie of how she used my Story Of Today layered template set (it’s great for Week In The Life too). […]

Leave a Reply

